On Blissful Realisations…

Faced by rock,

impregnable,

cold,

I claw and clamour,

wondering –

‘Where do I

even begin looking

for hope?’


At the door,

are despair and anguish;

So I clutch

at straws –

‘He has promised after all,

can it get worse?’

Finally, in desperation,

I clench

the Word,

staring blankly,

eyes

clouded,

by misery.


Until!

A phrase,

stands up and

shouts –

“…God is the strength of my heart…”*

– my heart
not 
body, 
mind, 
or 
spirit. 
(Though He is 
all that too!)


Just the salve,

my sore self

needed,

to ease the hurt

and pain.


Rest finally enfolds me

and peace enters –

He is “…the strength

of my heart

and

my portion forever.”*


Oh bliss!


                                    – R. D. P



* Based on Psalm 73:26

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ruth, you've got a way of getting into my head and staying there.

    Like

  2. inkhorn says:

    Aww…thanks Esther!

    Like

Leave a comment